expand_less

NewsUpdates about Rene

expand_less
expand_more

ReneCareer, History, Objectives, Family, Passion

His grandfather was an Austrian rally champion, his uncle was the first Tyrolean to compete in Formula 1 and his father no less a figure than champion in the German Formula 3 Trophy. So you could say that a passion for racing runs in Rene’s blood.

Born in the Olympic City of Innsbruck, Austria, Rene Binder is the last race winner of the former Renault World Series, one of the most successful F1 feeder series’. The 26-year-old trained engineer is now aiming for glory in the Verizon IndyCar Series.

Career

karriere_1

Facts

Family

about_familie

“Thanks” to his family’s focus on his education Binder Junior was not a shooting star in his teenage years, but a slowly rising star claiming 2nd overall in the German Junior Karting Championship. After only one year in the German ADAC Formula Masters Rene moved on to earn several podiums and 3 race wins in German F3 including a thrilling victory in the wet race of Spa Francorchamps.

A strong debut season 2013 in the GP2 Series saw him claiming a respectable 6th and 7th place in Monte Carlo. Given his very smart approach and tyre management Rene impressed enormously for the underfinanced Lazarus Team.

Two difficult years in GP2 followed but Rene fought back and signed for Lotus 3.5 claiming 5 podiums in his first World Series season 2016. After several podiums, 4 race wins and 2 pole positions Rene finished 4th in the 2017 Championship he was a serious title contender until his hopes were destroyed by a period of technical issues.

2017 World Series Formula V8: 4 wins, 5 podiums, 2 pole positions – 4th overall
2016 World Series Formula V8: 5 podiums – 7th overall
2015 GP2 Series: P8 in Monza
2014 GP2 Series: 8th/9th in Bahrain
2013 GP2 Series: 6th/7th in Monte Carlo, P8 in Sepang
2012 German Formula 3: 3 wins, 7 podiums – 6th overall
2011 German Formula 3: 1 podium
2010 German Formula 3: 1 podium
2009 ADAC Formula Masters: 3 podiums
2008 German Junior Kart Championship: multiple podiums – 2nd overall

Name: Rene Binder
Born: 1st January 1992
Home town: Uderns (Tyrol)
Education: Engineer and graduate of Wood Technology College Kuchl
Languages: German, English, Italian
Hobbies: Karting, skiing (especially in the beautiful Zillertal), hiking
Favourite tracks: Monaco, Spa, Singapore
Favourite driver: Michael Schumacher
Favourite race car: Dallara-Chevrolet Indycar
Favourite food: Pasta Vongole or a juicy steak
Dream holiday destination: Sardinia
binderholz

The smell of fresh timber and of highly combustible racing fuel: the passions and purposes of the family who run their own Zillertal-based business could not be more contrasting. Having grown up in relative poverty, Franz Binder Snr purchased a sawmill in 1957. Shortly thereafter, he discovered his love for fast cars and motorcycles.

While the family firm in Fügen slowly but steadily developed into a major enterprise, Franz Binder’s son Hans was making a career for himself in Formula 1, contesting 13 Grand Prix races between 1975 and 1977.

This passion was also shared by Binder’s middle son Reinhard and youngest son Franz Jnr, who enjoyed some success in Formula 3 and the Porsche Supercup, and it has now been passed on to the third generation with Rene as the standard bearer.

Rene’s grandfather, who died in 2013 at the age of 90, came out with a memorable quote 50 years ago, which is just as true today as it was then:

“If you go racing on the weekend, make sure you turn up for work on Monday hale and hearty.” And so it is a matter of course for Rene that, even after landing at Munich airport after a long flight, he will make his way directly to the company offices.

This Tyrolean family-run company is a European market leader in terms of advanced technology and production methods.

More about Binderholz: www.binderholz.com

expand_less
expand_more

TeamTeam Spirit, Objectives, Community

Indy Lights Championship winning team, Juncos Racing, continues to build a presence in the Verizon IndyCar Series, announcing it has signed former World Series Formula V8 driver Rene Binder to compete in at least five races in the 2018 season. The team was originally established in 1997 in Argentina by Ricardo Juncos and is now based in the 41.000 square feet “Juncos Technical Centre” right at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indiana.

In 2017, Juncos Racing announced they would enter the Verizon IndyCar series and compete in the 101st Running of the Indianapolis 500. The rookie team would go on to finish a respected 15th with Sebastian Saavedra and 18th with Spencer Pigot. Juncos Racing also captured the Pro Mazda Championship and Indy Lights Championship, as the only team to win both series in the same year in the Mazda Road to Indy history.

More information: www.juncosracing.com

expand_less
expand_more

Verizon IndyCar SeriesSeries, Dates

Featuring racing at a combination of superspeedways, short ovals, road courses and temporary street circuits, the Verizon IndyCar Series offers its international lineup of drivers the most diverse challenges in motorsports. The top point scorer is crowned the series champion and receives a $1 million bonus.

Founded in 1994, INDYCAR serves as the sanctioning body for the Verizon IndyCar Series.

These stars drive single-seat, open-cockpit cars that feature a 2.2-liter, twin turbocharged, direct-injected V-6 engine optimized to run at 12,000 RPM with a maximum of 750 horsepower depending on the turbocharger boost setting. The consumer-relevant engines, which are supplied by Chevrolet and Honda, utilize Sunoco E85R fuel.

ABC and NBCSN provide comprehensive live, high-definition television coverage of the Verizon IndyCar Series in the United States, while ESPN International oversees race coverage to 212 countries. The TV telecasts are complemented by the Advanced Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network for each event, which includes Sirius XM Satellite Radio and the American Forces Radio Network.

www.indycar.com

The speed

The Verizon IndyCar Series races faster and closer than any other form of motorsports. 96 races with a margin of victory less than one second. The fastest race in Verizon IndyCar Series history was in 2003 at California Speedway with an average speed of 207.151 mph. There have been eight races with a margin of less than one-tenth of a second between its 1-2-3 finishers. Thirty-one tracks and 46 drivers have been involved in the 96 races with a margin of victory less than one second. Verizon IndyCar Series cars reach speeds up to 235 mph at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Dates 2018

09.-11.03.2018
Firestone Grand Prix, St. Petersburg Florida
20.-22.04.2018
Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama
01.-03.06.2018
Chevrolet Grand Prix of Detroit by Lear
13.-15.07.2018
Honda Indy Toronto
27.-29.07.2018
Honda Indy 200 Mid-Ohio

expand_less
expand_more

Car specsBolder. Safer. Even more thrilling

INDYCAR is primed for a new look, inspired by old favorites but clearly pointing towards what’s “NEXT” for the Verizon IndyCar Series. The new Indy car: Bolder. Safer. Even more thrilling

Chassis: Dallara carbon fibre, kevlar and other composites
Gearbox: XTRAC #1011 gearbox, six forward gears
Engine: Chevrolet 2.2-liter V-6, twin-turbocharged
Power: max. 750 hp
Tyres: Firestone Firehawk

expand_less
expand_more

PhotosImpressions, Races, Victories

expand_less
expand_more

Partner

logo_zillerseasonsriederlogo_koaldürrbeckwagnerlogo_pmcsiag_logonotheggergenolgloryBC-Transhollyrothoblaas

expand_less
expand_less

expand_less

NewsAktuelles über Rene

expand_less
expand_more

ReneWerdegang, Geschichte, Ziele, Familie, Leidenschaft

Sein Großvater war österreichischer Rallyemeister, sein Onkel der erste Tiroler in der Formel 1 und sein Vater immerhin Titelträger der Deutschen Formel 3 Trophy. Rene wurde die Leidenschaft für den Rennsport also buchstäblich in die Wiege gelegt.

Der 26-jährige Innsbrucker ist der letzte Rennsieger der Renault World Series, einer der erfolgreichsten Nachwuchsserien der Formel 1. Der Ingenieur strebt nun in der Verizon IndyCar Series nach Erfolg.

Karriere

karriere_1

Fakten

Familie

about_familie

Binder Junior war in seiner Teenager-Zeit kein Senkrechtstarter, da die Familie großen Wert auf seine Ausbildung legte. Binders Stern stieg mit Gesamtplatz zwei in der deutschen Junior-Kartmeisterschaft langsam auf. Nach nur einem Jahr im ADAC Formel Masters wechselte Binder in die deutsche Formel 3, wo er mehrere Podestplätze und drei Rennsiege feierte. Der bemerkenswerteste Erfolg war der Triumph im spannenden Regenrennen von Spa-Francorchamps.

In einer starken Debütsaison 2013 in der GP2 fuhr Binder einen beachtlichen sechsten und siebten Platz in Monte Carlo ein. Aufgrund seiner sehr intelligenten Herangehensweise und seines geschickten Reifenmanagements beeindruckte Binder im unterfinanzierten Lazarus Team enorm.

Es folgten zwei schwierige Jahre in der GP2, aber Binder kämpfte sich zurück und unterschrieb bei Lotus 3.5. In seiner ersten Saison in der World Series im Jahr 2016 fuhr er fünf Podestplätze ein. Nach mehreren Podestplätzen, vier Rennsiegen und zwei Pole Positions beendete Binder die Saison 2017 auf Rang vier. Er war ein ernstzunehmender Titelkandidat, bis seine Hoffnungen aufgrund einer Serie von technischen Problemen zerstört wurden.

2017 World Series Formula V8: 4 Siege, 5 Podestplätze, 2 Pole Positions – Gesamtplatz 4
2016 World Series Formula V8: 5 Podestplätze – Gesamtplatz 7
2015 GP2: Platz 8 in Monza
2014 GP2: 8./9. Platz in Bahrain
2013 GP2: 6./7. Platz in Monte Carlo, Platz 8 in Sepang
2012 deutsche Formel 3: 3 Siege, 7 Podestplätze – Gesamtplatz 6
2011 deutsche Formel 3: 1 Podestplatz
2010 deutsche Formel 3: 1 Podestplatz
2009 ADAC Formel Masters: 3 Podestplätze
2008 deutsche Junior-Kartmeisterschaft: mehrere Podestplätze – Gesamtplatz 2

Name: Rene Binder
geboren: 1. Januar 1992
Wohnort: Uderns / Tirol
Ausbildung: Ingenieur und Absolvent des Holztechnikum Kuchl
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch
Hobbies: Kartsport, Skifahren (und zwar am liebsten bei ihm im schönen Zillertal), Wandern
Lieblingsstrecken: Monaco, Singapur und Spa
Lieblingsfahrer: Michael Schumacher
Lieblingsrennauto: Dallara-Chevrolet Indycar
Lieblingsessen: Pasta Vongole oder ein saftiges Steak
Urlaubstraumziel: Sardinien
binderholz

Der Duft von frischem Holz und hochexplosivem Rennbenzin: Die Leidenschaften und Sinne der Zillertaler Unternehmerfamilie Binder könnten konträrer nicht sein. In ärmlichen Verhältnissen aufgewachsen erwarb Franz Binder Senior 1957 ein Sägewerk und entdeckte schon kurze Zeit später seine Liebe zu schnellen Autos und Motorrädern.

Während sich der Betrieb mit Sitz in Fügen langsam aber stetig zu einem Großbetrieb entwickelte, arbeitete sich sein Sohn, Hans Binder, sogar bis in die Formel 1 hinauf, in der er zwischen 1975 und 1977 13 Grands Prix bestritt.

Auch der mittlere Sohn, Reinhard, und sein jüngerer Bruder Franz Jr., der selbst erfolgreich in der Formel 3 sowie im Porsche Supercup aktiv war, teilten diese Passion, die von Rene nun in der dritten Generation weitergetragen wird.

Eine Maxime seines Großvaters, der 2013 im 90. Lebensjahr verstarb, gilt heute übrigens noch gleich wie vor 50 Jahren:

Wer am Wochenende Rennen fährt, hat am Montag frisch und munter in der Firma zu sein. Und so ist es auch für Rene eine Selbstverständlichkeit, oft nach einer langen Reise vom Flughafen München direkt die Zentrale in Fügen anzusteuern.

Das Tiroler Familienunternehmen präsentiert sich heute als eines der führenden europäischen, mit modernsten Technologien und Fertigungsmethoden ausgestatteten Unternehmen mit entsprechender Reputation auf dem Markt.

Mehr über binderholz: www.binderholz.com

expand_less
expand_more

TeamZusammenhalt, Ziele, Gemeinschaft

Juncos Racing, ehemaliger Teamchampion in der Indy Lights Meisterschaft, arbeitet weiter daran, sich in der Verizon IndyCar Series eine Präsenz aufzubauen. Zu diesem Zweck hat das Team den ehemaligen Formel-V8-Piloten Rene Binder unter Vertrag genommen. Der Österreicher wird in der Saison 2018 mindestens fünf Rennen bestreiten. Das Team wurde von Ricardo Juncos 1997 in Argentinien gegründet. Mittlerweile ist es im 3.800 Quadratmeter großen „Juncos Technical Centre“ direkt am Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indiana beheimatet.

2017 gab Juncos Racing den Einstieg in die Verizon IndyCar Series und einen Start bei der 101. Ausgabe der Indianapolis 500 bekannt. Das Rookie-Team erzielte mit Platz 15 für Sebastian Saavedra und Rang 18 für Spencer Pigot ein respektables Ergebnis. Als einziges Team in der Geschichte der ‚Mazda Road to Indy‘ gewann Juncos Racing im gleichen Jahr die Pro Mazda Meisterschaft und die Indy Lights Meisterschaft.

Weitere Infos unter: www.juncosracing.com

expand_less
expand_more

Verizon IndyCar SerieRennserie, Termine

Mit einer Kombination aus Superspeedways, kurzen Ovalen, klassischen Rennstrecken und temporären Straßenkursen stellt die Verizon IndyCar Series ihr international besetztes Fahrerfeld vor die größte Bandbreite an Herausforderungen, denen man im Motorsport begegnen kann. Derjenige, der die meisten Punkte gesammelt hat, wird am Ende der Saison als Champion gekrönt und bekommt als Bonus 1 Million US-Dollar überreicht.

INDYCAR wurde 1994 aus der Taufe gehoben und ist der Veranstalter der Verizon IndyCar Series.

Die Stars der Serie fahren Formelautos, ausgestattet mit einem 2,2-Liter-V6-Turbomotor, der optimiert ist für Drehzahlen von 12.000 U/min und eine Leistung von bis zu 750 PS abrufen kann – abhängig von der Einstellung des Turboladers. Chevrolet und Honda liefern die seriennahen Motoren, die mit Sunoco E85R Benzin laufen.

In den USA liefern ABC und NBCSN eine umfangreiche Liveübertragung der Verizon IndyCar Series in HD-Qualität, während ESPN International die Rennen in 212 Ländern überträgt. Die Fernsehübertragung wird bei jeder Veranstaltung ergänzt vom Advanced Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network, welches Sirius XM Satellitenradio und das American Forces Radio Network einschließt.

www.indycar.com

Der Speed

Die Rennen der Verizon IndyCar Series sind schneller und härter umkämpft als in allen anderen Rennserien. 96 Rennen endeten mit weniger als einer Sekunde Vorsprung des Siegers auf seinen nächsten Verfolger. Das schnellste Rennen in der Geschichte der Verizon IndyCar Series fand 2003 auf dem California Speedway mit einer Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeit von 207,151 mph (333,377 km/h) statt. Bislang gab es acht Rennen mit einem Abstand von weniger als einer Zehntelsekunde zwischen den Top-3-Fahrern. 31 Strecken und 46 Fahrer waren an den 96 Rennen mit weniger als einer Sekunde Vorsprung des Siegers auf den nächsten Verfolger beteiligt. Die Autos der Verizon IndyCar Series erreichen auf dem Indianapolis Motor Speedway Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 235 mph (378 km/h).

Termine 2018

09.-11.03.2018
Firestone Grand Prix, St. Petersburg Florida

20.-22.04.2018
Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

01.-03.06.2018
Chevrolet Grand Prix of Detroit by Lear

13.-15.07.2018
Honda Indy Toronto

27.-29.07.2018
Honda Indy 200 Mid-Ohio

 

expand_less
expand_more

Auto-Spezifikationengewagter, sicherer und noch spannender

Das Auto hat einen neuen Look, der von Klassikern inspiriert wurde. Dennoch zeigt es ganz klar die Zukunft der Verizon IndyCar Series. Das neue Auto: gewagter, sicherer und noch spannender.

Chassis: Dallara, aus Karbon, Kevlar und anderen Materialien
Getriebe: XTRAC #1011 Getriebe, sechs Gänge
Motor: Chevrolet 2,2-Liter V-6, Bi-Turbo
Leistung: max. 750 PS
Reifen: Firestone Firehawk

expand_less
expand_more

BilderImpressionen, Rennen, Siege

expand_less
expand_more

Partner

logo_zillerseasonsriederlogo_koaldürrbeckwagnerlogo_pmcsiag_logonotheggergenolgloryBC-Transhollyrothoblaas

expand_less
expand_less